I was dreading it. The idea of trying to keep track of over a hundred kids as they ran free around the state park seemed like a nightmare to me. What if I accidentally lost one of them? What if all the buses leave and a kid gets left behind an hour away from home? Nope, I liked the controlled environment of my classroom, thank you very much.
But going on a 7th grade field trip was a tradition, and the other history teachers were planning on it. I couldn't back out of it. I woke up the morning of, seriously wanting the day to be over already. I prayed, "God, just get me through this day."
Though not excited, I was determined to conquer the field trip that day. I got to the school with a to do list of last minute preparations before loading my students all onto the buses first period, and that's when I got called down to an out-of-the-blue, new teacher meeting with the administration. "Can you come down to the office now?" they asked. "It should only take 10 minutes." Ugh, bad timing, but I could give up 10 minutes and still make things work.
10 minutes later, however, I was still sitting in the office with the other 1st year teachers, waiting for the meeting to start. Finally the principal came in and she wasn't prepared with the material she was supposed to share with us. Why it was so important to give us that info on that very day, I don't know, but they made us wait longer. Then she had technical difficulties during her "short" presentation. I anxiously looked at the clock. 10 minutes turned to 30.
By this point the bell rang for kids to go to first period. I could see through the office windows all my little 7th graders wandering the main commons area confused about what they should be doing. If I had been there, I would have had them lined up by period, taken roll, collected their sack lunches, and them put them on their buses in a nice orderly fashion. But I wasn't there and none of the other history teachers were stepped in to help out, either. It's not their fault. They had their own classes to deal with and they had no idea I was stuck in a meeting. The other teachers later told me that's when I should have just got up mid-meeting and left. I probably should have, but I was only 2 months into my new job. I didn't know I had a right to do that. Quite frankly, I was a chicken. So I sat through the meeting, not getting a thing out of it.
Finally, 10 minutes into 1st period, (my kids are all over the place by this point), I got released from my meeting with one last reminder that I needed to have 1st term grades posted that morning as well. Ah! Not only do I not know how to do that yet, but you tell me this when I have a hundred kids and their parent chaperones all lost throughout the school? Sorry, but that was not going to happen. And it didn't. Not until the next day, at least.
When I got out of my meeting, I was immediately accosted by confused kids and parents all asking me a million questions. None of which I had the answers to because I HAD NEVER BEEN ON A FIELD TRIP BEFORE. Besides, all I could think was that I needed to pee before getting on one of those buses. I didn't get to. To say I was stressed in this moment is an understatement.
What resulted was I had kids scattered on all the buses, their lunches were all in different places, I never got the chance to meet the parents who were my helping chaperone for the day, and I never got to take role. I had no idea how many or which kids I had with me on that field trip, meaning I would have no idea if we were leaving without someone at the end of the day. Not ok!
But oh well. We were late and off we went.
It took me a while to calm down after that horrible start to the field trip. I was mad and frustrated and worried as heck and I still had to pee. The hour long bus ride helped me to chill out a bit, but I got made fun of for the rest of the year about how much I hated field trips. But really, can you blame me?
Luckily the rest of the day went well. I could see why the other teachers were pro-field trip - this field trip at least. The park ran things perfectly. My kids all had fun, and that was the point.
We just had the one problem where a kid thought he could do a cool trick jumping off a stage, totally fell, and scraped himself all up. Of course, it was one of my students, and I ended up having to play nurse. By some miracle, I had band-aids in my purse. I felt like such a mom.
The kid was fine, but that didn't stop his mom from getting mad at me later. She said I should have called her to tell her that he had hurt himself as soon as it happened. Maybe I should have...but I honestly think that would have only scared her more than anything. Then she would have been made at me for freaking her out over just a few scrapes. It was a no win situation for me, I think. The kid was fine, so that's all that should really matter, right?
Still, if we had just had a normal day of school, with kids safely tucked away into desks, that wouldn't have happened. I'm just saying.